American Massage Therapy Association names Cobb teacher of the year

Regina Cobb pictured with “Good Morning America” co-host Robin Roberts at the American Massage Therapy Association’s National Convention in Milwaukee.

Regina Cobb has spent more than 15 years promoting the Community College of Rhode Island Therapeutic Massage program to anyone who will listen. Now that the American Massage Therapy Association has named her teacher of the year, she will have a little help shining a national spotlight on the program.

The Jerome Perlinski Teacher of the Year Award is given annually to an instructor who demonstrates exceptional teaching abilities and a commitment to high standards of education. She received the award at the AMTA National Convention in Milwaukee, where “Good Morning America” co-host Robin Roberts was keynote speaker.

“When I first found out about the award it was disbelief,” she said. “I was really taken aback and felt really honored that people recognized all the work I’ve been doing for the last 16 years. It was exhilarating,” she said. “It showed me how many people the program has touched over the last 15 years.”

Cobb, who has served as director of CCRI’s Therapeutic Massage program since its inception in 2001, has seen about 175 students graduate from the program and either continue their education or find employment in the field.

Read the full story.